Three IITians who became Politicians!

Three IITians That Becomes Politicians!

IITians are present in many fields- there are IITians who became politicians, CEOs, scientists or a load of other things. This is because IITs helps in the all-round development of a student. Politics is a field which the youngsters don’t find appealing. But thanks to the sometimes politically charged atmosphere inside IITs, some end up polishing their political skills mightily! Some IITians seized this opportunity and became national leaders. Let’s have a look at some of the IITians who became politicians.

3Manohar Parrikar(’78 batch of IIT Bombay)

Manohar Parrikar

These are the words of the current Defence Minister of India. Known for his swift and decisive decisions, Manohar Parrikar is a politician from Bhartiya Janta Party. He has also served as the Chief Minister of Goa from 2000-05 and 2012-14. Currently, he is a member of Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh. He graduated in metallurgical engineering from IIT Bombay in 1978. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2001 by IIT Bombay.

2Arvind Kejriwal(’89 batch of IIT Kharagpur)

Arvind Kejriwal

The credit of transforming the Indian politics goes to this man. Arvind Kejriwal has always raised voice against corruption. He graduated in Mechanical engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 1989. His father, a pass out of Birla Institute of Technology(Mesra), was also an engineer. He joined Tata Steel in 1989 and was posted in Jamshedpur. He resigned in 1992, having taken leave to prepare for Civil Services Examinations. Kejriwal joined the IRS as an Assistant Commissioner of Income Tax in 1995 after qualifying through the Civil Services Examination. In February 2006, he resigned from his position as Joint Commissioner of Income Tax in New Delhi. Presently, he is also the National convener of Aam Aadmi Party.

1Ajit Singh(IIT Kharagpur)

Ajit Singh

Ajit Singh is the founder and chief of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, a political party recognized in western part of the state of Uttar Pradesh. He is the son of former Prime Minister of India late Choudhary Charan Singh. He is a B.Sc. from Lucknow University, B.Tech. from IIT Kharagpur and M.S. from Illinois Institute of Technology. He was a computer scientist by profession. Ajit Singh was first elected to Rajya Sabha in 1986. He was the President of Lok Dal (A) and Janata Party during 1987 and 1988, respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here