Ayushman Bharat health scheme: Facts to know & Steps to check eligibility

Ayushman Bharat: All you need to know about world's largest state-run healthcare programme, steps to check eligibility.
PM Modi rolls out world’s largest health insurance scheme! Who is eligible for PM Modi's Ayushman Bharat Scheme & How to check your eligibility? Find out here

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched his government’s ambitious healthcare scheme Ayushman Bharat – Pradhan Mantri Jan Aarogya Yojana (AB-PMJAY) on Sunday!  It is one of the biggest schemes ever implemented for change in the life of the common man as it aims to provide an annual health cover of Rs 5 lakh to over 50 crore beneficiaries across India. The PMJAY will cover beneficiaries identified on the basis of the Socio Economic Caste Survey (SECC) 2011 from 10.74 crore families in 444 districts of 26 states, and provide reimbursements for bed charges, and drugs and diagnostics two days before, during, and 15 days after hospitalisation.

Dedicating the scheme to the “service of the poor”, Modi hit out at previous governments of “30-50 years ago”, saying that policy makers in the past never tried to empower the poor, but only paid lip service to their cause in the hope of getting their votes.

How to check if you’re eligible
PM Modi rolls out world’s largest health insurance scheme! Who is eligible for PM Modi's Ayushman Bharat Scheme & How to check your eligibility? Find out here
PM Modi

The National Health Agency (NHA), the apex body implementing the AB-NHPM, has launched a website and a helpline number to help prospective beneficiaries check if their name is there in the final list.

One can visit mera.pmjay.gov.in or call up the helpline (14555) to check their enrolment.

People who are eligible to receive benefits under the Ayushman bharat scheme are as follows:

In Rural areas
  1. Households living in only one room with kucha walls and kucha roof.
  2. Households with no adult member between age 16 to 59
  3. Female headed households with no adult male member between age 16 to 59
  4. Households having at least one disabled member and no able-bodied adult member
  5. SC/ST households
  6. Landless households deriving major part of their income from manual casual labour
  7. Households without shelter
  8. Destitute/ living on alms
  9. Manual scavenger families
  10. Primitive tribal groups
  11. Legally released bonded labour
In Urban areas:

The following occupational category of workers are automatically included in the list

  1. Rag picker
  2. Beggar
  3. Domestic worker
  4. Street vendor/ Cobbler/hawker / Other service provider working on streets
  5. Construction worker/ Plumber/ Mason/ Labour/ Painter/ Welder/ Security guard/ Coolie and another head-load worker
  6. Sweeper/ Sanitation worker / Mali
  7. Home-based worker/ Artisan/ Handicrafts worker / Tailor
  8. Transport worker/ Driver/ Conductor/ Helper to drivers and conductors/ Cart puller/ Rickshaw puller
  9. Shop worker/ Assistant/ Peon in small establishment/ Helper/Delivery assistant / Attendant/ Waiter
  10. Electrician/ Mechanic/ Assembler/ Repair worker
  11. Washer-man/ Chowkidar

Also Read: PM Modi has less than Rs 50,000 cash, his total assets up Rs 2.28 mn! Read in detail

Source- Businesstoday.in , indianexpress.com, Internet

What do you think about this scheme? Tell us in the comments section and stay connected with Awaaznation for all updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here