Virat Kohli equals his record with this Legendary player. Take a look!

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Everytime India skipper Virat Kohli steps on the field, it is a given that he will create a record or two. On Sunday, during the second Test between India and Sri Lanka, it was a little different though. Kohli just did not settle after making one or two records, but pressed to go for more.

After reaching the milestone of most centuries by an Indian skipper (12)—previously held by Sunil Gavaskar (11), Kohli went on to score a double hundred (213). With this double hundred, Kohli scored his fifth in Test match cricket.

This is also Kohli’s fifth double century as captain, the highest ever, tied with West Indian Brian Lara. Other Indian captains like MAK Pataudi, MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar have one each. He also equalled Rahul Dravid for most double hundreds by an Indian. That record is held by Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar with six apiece right now.

Brian lara
Brian lara

Player Innings
BC Lara (WI) 5
V Kohli (India) 5
GC Smith (SA) 4
Bradman (AUS) 4
MJ Clarke (AUS) 4

Kohli has scored all his double hundreds in 2016 and 2017. Here is the full list:

Runs Opposition Year
200 West Indies 2016
211 New Zealand 2016
235 England 2016
204 Bangladesh 2017
213 Sri Lanka 2017

However, he still a long way behind some of the legends of the game, when it comes to the worldwide list of most centuries by a skipper in the longest format of the game.

1. Graeme Smith: 25
2. Ricky Ponting: 19
3. Allan Border: 15
4. Steve Waugh: 15
5. Don Bradman: 14
6. Michael Clarke: 14
7. Mahela Jayawardene: 14
8. Brian Lara: 14
9. Clive Lloyd: 14
10. Greg Chappell: 13
11. Steve Smith: 13
12. Alastair Cook: 12
13. Virat Kohli: 12

Overall (all formats), Kohli has 22 International centuries as captain in 99 innings, behind South African Graeme Smith’s 41 (368 innings) and Aussie great Ricky Ponting’s feat of 41 (376 innings).

With the help of this latest century, Kohli also became the captain ever to score 10 tons across formats in a calendar year. Kohli broke the record of Ricky Ponting (9 in 2005 and 2006) and Graeme Smith (9 in 2005) to set this latest milestone.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here