The Five Legends Of Literary:- Sahitya Akademi Award 2017

Sahitya Akademi Award 2017
The Five Legends Of Literary:- Sahitya Akademi Award 2017

Every year since its inception in 1954, the Sahitya Akademi Award prizes to the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by the Akademi. The award amount, which was Rs.5,000 since inception, had been enhanced to Rs.10,000 from 1983, Rs.25,000 from 1988, Rs.40,000 from 2001, Rs.50,000 from 2003 and is now Rs.1,00,000 from 2009. The first Awards were given in 1955. The awards will be distributed on October 29, the second day of the Bangalore Literature Festival – 2017 at Hotel Lalit Ashok.

For complete list of Sahitya Akademi Award winners click here

Here we proud to introduce Five legendries of literary.

5Manu S. Pillai

Manu S. Pillai

Manu S. Pillai was born in Kerala in 1990 and educated at Fergusson College, Pune, and at King’s College London. Following the completion of his master’s degree, where he presented his thesis on the emergence of religious nationalism in nineteenth-century India, in 2011-12, he managed the parliamentary office of Dr Shashi Tharoor in New Delhi and was then aide to Lord Bilimoria CBE DL, a crossbencher at the House of Lords in London in 2012-13. That same year he was commissioned by the BBC as a researcher to work with Prof. Sunil Khilnani on the ‘Incarnations’ history series, which tells the story of India through fifty great lives. The Ivory Throne is Manu’s first book.

4Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal

In 2015, Nayantara Sahgal returned the Sahitya Akademi Award she received in 1986 for her novel ‘Rich Like Us’.
A UN monitor for cultural rights has hailed writer Nayantara Sahgal returning her Sahitya Akademi award two years ago as an example of women artists “calling out fundamentalism and extremism”.
“Women artists often play a significant role in calling out fundamentalism and extremism,” Karima Bennoune, the special rapporteur for cultural rights, told a General Assembly committee dealing with social, humanitarian and cultural affairs.
“For example, in response to what they perceived as ‘rising intolerance and growing assault on free speech’, coupled with violence against intellectuals, approximately 40 leading Indian writers, including women writers, returned their literary awards in protest,” she said.


3Radhika Mohan Bhagawati

Radhika Mohan Bhagawati

Veteran journalist Radhika Mohan Bhagawati, editor of several Assamese newspapers and a Sahitya Akademi awardee, passed away at a hospital here following a protracted illness. Bhagawati was 84.

Bhagawati began his career as a journalist as a Sub-Editor in ‘Notun Asomia’ newspaper in 1958 and then joined the magazine ‘Ramdhenu’ to subsequently become its editor.He then served as the editor of daily Assamese newspapers ‘Ajir Dainik Batori’, ‘Batori’, ‘Ajir Asom’, ‘Sentinel (Hindi)’ and Dainik Asam.

The Banaras Hindu University (BHU) alumnus was also engaged in various literary works, writing several books including ‘Roktojoba’, ‘Honoria Ful’, ‘Ejon Roja Asil’ and ‘Asomiar Puhorot Asomiar Chari Doshokor Itihash’.He was the recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1991 for Assamese translation of ‘The Story of Our Newspapers’ by Chanchal Sarkar.

He was also awarded the prestigious Harendra Nath Barua Award for his journalistic work in 1990, ‘Shiva Prashad Baruah’ national award in 2009, ‘Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya’ award in 2009 and ‘Shashiprabha Barbara Sahitya Award’ in 2015 when he also received the ‘Sadi Journalist Award.

2Paro Anand

Paro Anand

Author Paro Anand, who has in the recent past seen two of her books taken off the reading list in schools, says she will never stop writing stories for children that are really needed in this increasingly fragmenting world. Anand was recently awarded the Sahitya Akademi Bal Puruskar for her 2011 book “Wild Child and Other Stories”, which has now been published as “Like Smoke: 20 Teens 20 Stories”.

She says the Sahitya Akademi award is a validation of serious literature for young people being taken seriously. The Sahitya Akademi has only recently included children’s literature in their awards.

“When ‘Wild Child’ was being written, I was going through a very dark time myself. Both my parents were very ill and almost racing to the finish line together. My editor, Jaya Bhattacharjee, held my hand through the raw emotion that was the process of this writing. Anand says she would like, through her stories in “Wild Child”, to empower young people to make positive changes in their own lives as well as in the lives of others.

Anand had been working for a while with children in very privileged urban schools around the country and when she would talk about prejudice, every time, they talked about the big issues of racial discrimination like apartheid or slavery – far-off issues in far-off lands.

Asked why her books including “Wild Child and Other Stories” were banned by schools even though she addressed many pertinent issues, Anand says she had been trying to meet those people who raised the objections to try and discuss those objections. Another fact could be that a boy from one religion and a girl from another fall in love, Anand says.

“It only showed me that I was on the right track. It spurred me on. My next book, ‘The Other’, pushes the boundaries even more. I was upset, at first, but only because I was unable to meet with those who were raising the objections and dialogue with them. My stories all encourage inclusiveness, to find common ground and stop the hatred.

Writing the pretty, sweet stories are easy, but these are the ones that we really do need in this increasingly fragmenting world,” she says.Anand is now working on a collection of stories called “The Other” which pushes “Wild Child” and “Like Smoke” even further.

1M K Sanu

M K Sanu

Eminent critic, biographer and orator M K Sanu has been chosen for the Mathrubhumi Literary Award for 2016 in recognition of his rich contribution to the Malayalam literature.The award carries a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, a citation and a statuette.

A jury headed by eminent poet Vishnu Narayanan Namboothiri selected Sanu for the award, Mathrubhumi Managing Director M P Veerendra Kumar, MP, said in a release today.Malayalam writer, literary critic and educationist Dr M Leelavathy, author and scientist C Radhakrishnan were the other members of the jury committee.

“Changampuzha Krishnapilla”, “Nakshtrangalude Snehabhajanam”, “Narayanaguru Swami”, “Mruthyunjayam” “Kavyajeevitham”, “Viswasathilek Veendum American Sahityam” and “Prabhatha Darshanam” are some of his important works.The 89-year-old Sanu is a recipient of several honours, including the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award, Vayalar Award, Padmaprabha Award, Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award and Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for his overall contributions.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here